History & Tradition

Historic picture of Coosa Country ClubhouseCoosa Country Club was organized on a temporary basis in August, 1909, with Robert W. Graves, President; J.P. Cooper, Vice President; George Watts, Secretary; and H.E. Kelley, Treasurer. At that time membership was limited to 100, with an initiation fee of $75.00.

The first clubhouse was completed by March, 1910. It included a social hall and dining room with a large fireplace upstairs, a kitchen, locker rooms, and billiard room on the ground floor. A unique veranda encircling the upper floor was built with one side of it built around an immense tree. Additionally, a wharf and tennis courts were added to the grounds.

The Club was formally opened with two brilliant receptions and a ball the afternoon and evening of March 29, 1910. The stockholders met two days later to make the temporary organization permanent.


‚ÄčThe old clubhouse went through several periods of remodeling that included having the ballroom enlarged, the old fireplace removed, and a portion of the veranda done away with to accommodate the addition of a ladies lounge, kitchen and offices. Additionally a swimming pool and bath house were added, and later the golf course was increased from nine holes to eighteen.

 

After World War II, the Club membership increased steadily, and its facilities were taxed to the limit. A new, modern building was put under construction in the summer of 1958. Completed by the end of June, 1959, an open house was held on July 5. At the same time, a bathhouse was added to the outdoor snack bar and was opened for use.


The formal opening of the new clubhouse took place with a buffet supper and ball on August 15, 1959.

Currently Coosa has grown to include a beautiful eighteen-hole championship golf course, 11 tennis courts with both clay and hard court surfaces, an Olympic size swimming complex, and a Fitness Center. Our sports program boasts successful Youth and Adult Golf as well as Tennis Programs.  In 1999 the Club replaced the "old schoolhouse" building with one to fit in our southern surroundings.


2009 was a year of jubilation and unique festivities as the members celebrated the Club’s Centennial anniversary, which culminated with a Gala of All Galas on March 27, 2010.